• We are no longer supporting TapaTalk as a mobile app for our sites. The TapaTalk App has many issues with speed on our server as well as security holes that leave us vulnerable to attacks and spammers.

Turbo recommendations in 2022 for a 2006-08 Apex powered mini sand rail

stix

Country
USA
Snowmobile
Yamaha Apex in a dune buggy
After about 6 or 7 years of running my Tazcar mini rail's Apex engine naturally aspirated, Im considering adding a turbo kit. However it seems most aftermarket turbo companies arent carrying any of the Apex kits anymore. Also Ill have to find somebody locally to fabricate an exhaust system since my exhaust is completely different from the sled exhaust, my intake might be an issue too since it butts up next to the radiator. Maybe build my own kit, but Im not even sure how to get a hold of a controller, turbo size, intercooler type, head gasket etc etc. Im still a noob regarding turbos but I have a very basic understanding of how it works. Ive been doing the Google thing trying to get as much info as possible but now I just need to know where to start. Any help would be appreciated!

Attachments

• P1010368.JPG
    P1010368.JPG
    230.7 KB · Views: 99
  • P1010352.JPG
    P1010352.JPG
    123.9 KB · Views: 96
  • P1010358.JPG
    P1010358.JPG
    125.2 KB · Views: 87
  • P1010371.JPG
    P1010371.JPG
    117.7 KB · Views: 94
  • P1010355.JPG
    P1010355.JPG
    114 KB · Views: 89

Awesome machine ! It would scare the poop out of me to be screaming 50 MPH over the top of a dune and not know what’s on the other side !!!

Maybe PM “Kinger” look up Kinger turbo garage in the search. He seems to the Apex expert. He should be able to point you in the right direction.

Whats your goal? Response? Top end power? Combo of both? gtx2863r or gtx2867r if all around response and power is your goal. G25-550 if you want the most out of a small frame turbo. Start moving into the gtx30's if more top end power is your wish