• We are no longer supporting TapaTalk as a mobile app for our sites. The TapaTalk App has many issues with speed on our server as well as security holes that leave us vulnerable to attacks and spammers.

Lightweight battery Replacement for Nytro MTX

robbaum

Anyone looked into replacing their stock MTX battery with a lighter weight battery? I would be interested in finding out where you got your battery and how it is working. I have a 2008 Nytro MTX... and yes... I love it!

Don't get the Batcap.......seen to many fail and leave buddies stranded on the mountain with shorted out "Car Amp batteries" which is all the Batcaps are designed for.
Get a good Yuasa or something of equal quality designed for motorsports.
I use the YTZ7S from Yuasa.
RS

I use the same as ClimbMax (YTZ7S)!

It weighs less than 7 pounds and has plenty of power to turn the MTX engine even when it is very cold!

I've been using this battery for the last 3 years with no problems!

Errol

Just a note about after-market "Lightweight" batteries being sold for sleds, is that most I've seen are actually Batcap batteries with a different flashy sticker on them. They are marketed as a sled battery, but are actually Batcaps and as previously mentioned, they do fail. I seen one last spring fail in the mountains, cracked or something like that, and the guy was pulled home......nothing more embarrassing then your $30,000. sled pulled home because he saved 7-8 pounds on an already super, light, 325 hp sled!
If you're riding the mountains, or far out of the way, I would think twice.The same dealer that owns the sled and sells the batteries advised me it wasn't worth it.

i checked into them at one point and the company that was selling them also offerd lite weight jummper cables, so i scrapped the whole idea