• We are no longer supporting TapaTalk as a mobile app for our sites. The TapaTalk App has many issues with speed on our server as well as security holes that leave us vulnerable to attacks and spammers.

USA Garmin and Trakmaps

Se7enOfMine

Country
Canada
Snowmobile
2007 Yamaha Venture RS
1996 Ski-Doo 583 MXZ
Hey everyone,

Newbie here so be gentle.

I think the answer is yes, but, am a bit new to this world so wanted to make sure.

I am in Canada. I have a Garmin Drive 51 USA LM. It only has USA maps loaded. I dont believe it's 'locked' .. just bought it in the USA for when we travel there.

I want to make sure that, if i buy trakmaps, it will load on this gps. Only reason for asking is the USA only thing. I believe i can load Canada maps on it by purchasing them (though i have never tried). I checked trakmaps and this model is compatible.

Anywho, just looking for a wee spot of guidance before i make the purchase. I fully realize its unlikely none of yiu work for Garmin nor trakmaps, just hoping your experience in this area might shed some light is all :)

Thanks in advance.
Se7en

Hey Se7en. You will be fine with a USA only maps device. When you load the Trakmaps onto the device you will actually be turning off any other maps. Trakmaps runs all by itself and doesn't rely on any other maps.

The current Garmin I run is a Nuvi 65 USA LM.

Heya Ateick. Awesome. I figured as much but, ya know, horses mouth n all that :p

I just acquired a 2007 Venture GT. Picking it up in a few days. Cant wait to ride it. Gotta figure out where and how to hook up said GPS but i suspect it will be pretty obvious haha

Hey everyone,

Newbie here so be gentle.

I think the answer is yes, but, am a bit new to this world so wanted to make sure.

I am in Canada. I have a Garmin Drive 51 USA LM. It only has USA maps loaded. I dont believe it's 'locked' .. just bought it in the USA for when we travel there.