• We are no longer supporting TapaTalk as a mobile app for our sites. The TapaTalk App has many issues with speed on our server as well as security holes that leave us vulnerable to attacks and spammers.

Exhaust Extension on VL - Updated; Wrap & Shield Pics

BombaPolaYama

TY 4 Stroke Master
Edit: See pg 4 for same day pics of tunnel icing - another VL vs mine.

This is my first try at doing a mod to try and rectify the tunnel icing build-up on the VL. I have extended the exhaust outlet from the muffler to exit through the rear.
- Four different parts were used to do the job.
(1) Flexible tail pipe repair pipe was used so that I could easily centre the pipe because the outlet from the muffler is off centre and to bend pipe to fit would be difficult. Hopefully this flexible metal pipe will withstand this application (if not, it's back to the drawing board).
(2) Stainless steel adapter used to attach the flexible pipe to the SS tip. The tip has three set screws for that purpose.
(3) SS automotive tip was added at the end to make for a custom look.
(4) Template was made of the profile of the rear and a SS plate was cut to that shape and the tip was welded to it (done by local welding shop). I realize this SS plate was not really necessary and adds weight but I liked the look better than the original black. (Another option here would be to weld a ring to the tip large enough for holes to attach the tip).

At this point I am unsure about adding a plate to block off the muffler/exhaust and/or to wrap the exhaust - I may test this mod first. I think even this much has to be an improvement, i.e. less heat in the tunnel = less ice. At a minimum I may have to add a plate to protect the flexible pipe. Here are the pics with explanations; any thoughts and suggestions are welcome:

Attachments

• VL - exhaust extension 022(rsz).jpg
    VL - exhaust extension 022(rsz).jpg
    249.2 KB · Views: 699
  • VL - exhaust extension 021(rsz).jpg
    VL - exhaust extension 021(rsz).jpg