• We are no longer supporting TapaTalk as a mobile app for our sites. The TapaTalk App has many issues with speed on our server as well as security holes that leave us vulnerable to attacks and spammers.

Blown XTX rear shock

MNBlizzard

Expert
I am looking for thoughts/comments on a couple things. This weekend I started riding and got about 15 miles away from home and blew out my rear shock. It split the shock body near the top, seems like a hydraulic blow out. My XTX has 6500 miles on it and this fall I sent them all in for a rebuild and revalve with a well known and recommended company. This was exactly 365 miles ago. (I reset my trip meter each fall to log mileage.) Anyways, I have heard some people have had this exact same thing happen with the stock shocks and yamaha supposedly updated the design in 2011.

Do you think it was over filled or something else? Do you think the rebuilder is responsible it all and if so, what would be an appropriate in terms of replacement of the shock? Just doesn't seem right to me that the shock went over 6000 miles and then to have this happen after getting maintenance done on it.

Are there any TY reviews of the Fox Zero Pro rear shock available from carver? It seems this may be a better built shock but doesn't have the tunability of the gytr shock. Should I get the center Fox shock with the rear or can I run the mismatch pair?

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    680 KB · Views: 560

I dont think your rebuilder is at fault. There is page after page of this happening to xtx owners. There are kits availible to strengthen the shock body. Shock body is too weak in that area, and without reinforcement its bound to happen. A 2011 shock is ur fix...

Same thing happened to me this year. Weak design they fixed in 2011. Took my to Hygear and about $200 later all is well. Hygear replaced the body with one of theirs and told me it would never happen again. The new body looks a lot stronger.