• We are no longer supporting TapaTalk as a mobile app for our sites. The TapaTalk App has many issues with speed on our server as well as security holes that leave us vulnerable to attacks and spammers.

Pulling out the skid, who has done it?

Phazed

Pro
I'm going to be replacing my skid rails when they come in this weekend. I'm looking for any tips/ things I should know before I start. I took a quick look at it today and came to this conclusion:

-Remove the load from the torsion springs
-Unbolt the drive sprocket shaft on clutch side
-Remove the bolts where it connects to the tunnel

What else has to be done to pull the skid? And what is the correct way to unbolt the drive sprocket shaft? Anything else I should check while I'm in there?

unbolt drive shaft why? should be no need the skid should some out like just like a polaris or cat skid. i pull polaris skids for a living and the phazer looks almost identical. try this. leave strings on. take out the 4 bolts then tip the sled on its side. pivot the skid out till its at almost 90 degrees to the running boards. then pull up and out rear wheels first. i havent done mine yet but ive found it works on almost any sled ive worked on even proaction which are the bigest PITA to get in and out.

terret725 said:
unbolt drive shaft why?

I guess thats why I'm asking, I really don't know. I work on cars, not sleds ;)! This is the first time I've ever done extensive work on a sled. So let me get this straight, all I SHOULD have to do is:

-Unbolt the 4 tunnels bolts
-tip the sled on its side
- pull skid out till its 90º to the running boards
-just basically work it out from there

Nothing else has to be unbolted/disconnected?

lossening makes it easyer but atleast on polaris's it isnt nessasary. i never do it just cause were workin on the race sleds and we dont have time to readjust the track every time.