• We are no longer supporting TapaTalk as a mobile app for our sites. The TapaTalk App has many issues with speed on our server as well as security holes that leave us vulnerable to attacks and spammers.

XTX - Can the sled be set up for my weight?

09Nytro_XTX

Extreme
Well Saturday i finally leave to get my Nytro. Would there be a way that if i gave the dealer my weight, that they could crank on it and adjust it for my weight? Or will i just have to do that myself?

I only ask, because i was at a big dealer today, and someone said for his ski doo they do something like that?

depends on your weight, I'm 240 with my gear and the springs are maxed out. ordered new heavy springs for the back, not balanced very good, front is fine , rear is too soft for aggressive riding, or somone over 200lbs.

I would have to disagree with asphalltkitty (NO Offense) I am by no means an expert, but I have done alot of research and had talked on the phone with the guys from Hygear, who are fairly respsected when it comes to Yamaha suspensions.
I am 5'8" and wiegh 230 and run my sled on the medium, for the rear torsion springs. If you do a search and read the threads on setup you need to adjust springs for the ride hieght, meaning when you sit on the sled (with all your stuff on and baggage) the coupling blocks are in the middle, or half way thru their travel. This assumes you have played with the sled a bit and have your weight transfer to your liking. You then use the compression dampening to control ride stiffness and bottoming. Yamaha shocks are valved on the stiff side so you should be able to easily control bottoming with the copression screws. If you still bottom with the compression at the highest setting you need to revalve the shock for your wieght.